God of war poster Blog

The Evolution of God of War games From 2005 To 2022

It has been a wild ride for the God of War series. Released in 2005, the first game in the franchise was an instant hit. It introduced us to the angry, vengeful Spartan warrior Kratos and set him on a bloody path to get revenge against the Greek gods.

The franchise has seen several sequels over the years, each one building on the story and gameplay of the previous games.

In 2018, God of War was reborn with a new game that took everything we loved about the series and turned it on its head. Now, we’re looking ahead to the future of God of War with the next game in the series set to release in 2022.

Read on to find out everything we know about the upcoming game and what we can expect from it.

The Beginning of God Of War (2005)

God of War 2005
God Of War (2005)

For the PlayStation 2, the first God of War game was published in 2005. David Jaffe and his group at Sony Santa Monica created it. Over 4 million copies of the game were sold worldwide, making it a big commercial success. It received plaudits for its cutting-edge storyline, visuals, and gameplay. Additionally, the game received multiple “Game of the Year” nominations.

The story of God of War follows the journey of the Spartan warrior Kratos as he seeks revenge against the Olympian gods who have betrayed him. The game is set in the world of Greek mythology and draws a large cast of characters from there, including Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Apollo, Athena, and Ares.

God of War is considered to be one of the most influential games of all time. It has been credited with redefining the action-adventure genre and setting a new standard for video game storytelling.

God Of War II (2007)

God of war 2007
God Of War II (2007)

2007’s God of War II was a significant step up from the first game. It featured much more detailed graphics, an improved combat system, and a larger scale than the original. The story picks up after the events of the first game, with Kratos ascending to Mount Olympus to take his revenge on Zeus.

The game was very well-received by critics and is considered one of the best games in the series. Many aspects of God of War II would go on to become staples of the franchise, such as its focus on boss battles and puzzles.

God Of War III (2010)

God of war 2010
God Of War III (2010)

2010’s God of War III was the culmination of the franchise’s original trilogy, and it wrapped up Kratos’ story in spectacular fashion. It introduced a new combat system that emphasized dodging and counters, and it also featured some of the most jaw-dropping set pieces in any video game. The game was also notable for its use of quick-time events, which were heavily criticized by some players.

God Of War (2018)

God of war 2018
God Of War (2018)

The series has since been rebooted with a new game released in 2018. The new God of War game is a masterpiece and is considered to be one of the best video games ever made.

The story of the new God of War game follows Spartan warrior Kratos who is on a quest to destroy Zeus, the king of the Greek gods. The game is incredibly cinematic and features some of the most stunning visuals ever seen in a video game. The combat is fast-paced and brutal, and the boss battles are epic.

God Of War: Ragnarok (2022)

God of war 2022
God Of War: Ragnarok (2022)

In 2022, the long-awaited God of War: Ragnarok will be released. This game is set to continue the story of Kratos and Atreus, as they battle against the Norse gods and monsters. With an improved combat system and stunning graphics, this game is sure to be one of the most popular releases of the year.

How the God of War Games Have Evolved From The Beginning

The God of War game was first released in 2005 and was set in ancient Greece. It follows the story of Kratos, a Spartan warrior who is tricked into killing his family by the god Ares. Kratos then goes on a quest to destroy Ares with the help of the goddess Athena. The game was well-received by critics and is considered a classic in the action-adventure genre.

The second God of War game, released in 2007, is set in the realm of Norse mythology. In this installment, Kratos must stop the god Loki from unleashing Ragnarok, the end of the world. The game introduces new elements such as puzzles and platforming and received critical acclaim for its improved gameplay and graphics.

The third God of War game, released in 2010, is set in the realm of Greek mythology once again. This time, Kratos must stop Zeus from taking over the world. The game introduces new gameplay mechanics such as quick-time events and an open-world exploration mode. It also features an emotionally charged story that concludes Kratos’ arc from previous games.

The fourth God of War game, released in 2018, is a soft reboot of the series. It takes place in Norse mythology, but this time focuses on Kratos’ relationship with his son Atreus. Together they must face various challenges and beasts while uncovering secrets about Atreus’ past. The game introduces a new combat system that emphasizes.

God of War Gallery

God of war winged Kratos
God of war kratos art
ares with power and tentacles
Kratos God Of War 4 Game

In Conclusion

Action-adventure game series God of War was created by David Jaffe at Sony’s Santa Monica Studio. God of War Ragnarök is the latest release in the series which hit the market on November 9, 2022.

The God of War franchise is one of the most successful video game series of all time. Released in 2005, the first God of War game was an instant hit. If you haven’t played the new God of War game, you are missing out on one of the best gaming experiences of this generation.

It’s been an amazing journey for God of War, from its humble beginnings in 2005 to the release of its latest game in 2022. We can’t wait to see what the future holds for this franchise and we hope you enjoyed our look back at its evolution. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *